Sunday, July 14x-press.net - Unleash the News at the Speed of Thought!

West Ham are controversially denied a stoppage-time penalty during their Europa League defeat to Freiburg… despite a VAR check confirming that the ball hit the defender's hand

  • West Ham were denied a late penalty in their Europa League clash with Freiburg
  • The Hammers appealed for handball but the referee did not point to the spot
  • Sheffield United ‘were s***e before a ball was kicked’ – Listen to the It’s All Kicking Off podcast

West Ham were denied a late penalty in controversial fashion as they were defeated in their Europa League clash with Freiburg.

The Hammers were frustrated against their Bundesliga opposition on Thursday, with Jarrod Bowen unable to convert multiple chances to give them the advantage.

To make matters worse for the visitors substitute Michael Gregoritsch gave Freiburg the lead with just ten minutes remaining in the Round of 16 first leg.

David Moyes‘ side chased an equaliser in the closing stages and looked to have secured a breakthrough in stoppage time when the ball appeared to hit Noah Weisshaupt’s hand in the Freiburg penalty box.

A lengthy VAR check ensued that confirmed contact had been made between the ball and Weissbhaupt’s hand though he appeared to have been pushed by Tomas Soucek.

West Ham were denied a stoppage-time penalty as they were defeated by Freiburg in the Europa League

West Ham were denied a stoppage-time penalty as they were defeated by Freiburg in the Europa League

Official chose not to point to the spot despite protests and a lengthy VAR review for handball

Official chose not to point to the spot despite protests and a lengthy VAR review for handball

Your browser does not support iframes.

Referee Alejandro Hernandez opted not to award a spot kick, with the decision proving highly contentious on social media among fans on social media.

One wrote: ‘I don’t understand how that isn’t handball. We all watched it 50 times. It took 5 mins for everyone to watch it over and over.’

Another agreed: ‘They gave a penalty to PSG against Newcastle for the exact same thing. They just change the rules when they want.’

Other fans disagreed however, insisting that the referee had ultimately made the correct decision.

One wrote: ‘I feel like I’m the only one who doesn’t think that’s a penalty and it’s genuinely confusing me how many people do think it is…’ 

The decision not to award a spot kick proved highly contentious among fans on social media

The decision not to award a spot kick proved highly contentious among fans on social media

A further user added: ‘Ball deflected off the players body onto his arm. Regardless of where his arms are it’s not a penalty. Rules are clear’

David Moyes’ side will now need to overturn a one-goal deficit in the return fixture if they are to progress to the last eight of the competition.

The second leg at the London Stadium will be held on Thursday at 5:45. 

source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *